MINUTES OF MEETING NEW JERSEY PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION November 26, 2024 10:00 a.m. 495 West State Street Trenton, New Jersey

The meeting was called to order by Chair Mary Beth Hennessy-Shotter.

Present were:

Commissioners:

Adrienne Eaton Craig Ford William Higgins Barry Kushnir Pasquale Papero

Also present were:

Christine Lucarelli-Carneiro, General Counsel John Boppert, Deputy General Counsel Frank Kanther, Deputy General Counsel Ramiro Perez, Deputy General Counsel William J. Campbell, IV, Deputy General Counsel Grace Xanthacos, who acted as Stenographer

At the commencement of the meeting, Chair Hennessy-Shotter, pursuant to Section 5 of the Open Public Meetings Act, entered this announcement into the minutes of the meeting:

Adequate notice has been provided by the dissemination of a written "Annual Notice of Meeting." On December 15, 2023 a copy of such notice was:

(a) prominently posted in a public place at the offices of the Public Employment Relations Commission;

(b) e-mailed to the business offices of the Trenton Times and the Courier Post;

(c) posted on the agency's web site.

Furthermore on November 20, 2024, copies of an additional written "Notice of Meeting" were posted and sent in a similar manner.

The first item for consideration was the minutes of the October 24, 2024 meeting. Commissioner Kushnir moved the minutes and Commissioner Eaton seconded the motion. The motion to adopt the minutes was unanimously approved (Chair Hennessy-Shotter, Commissioners Eaton, Ford, Higgins, Kushnir and Papero).

The Chair reminded the Commissioners to complete the annual ethics training. The Chair advised that the interest arbitration cases between the County of Essex and PBAs Local 183 and 183A that were referred to mediation have settled. The Chair advised that the appeal of the Hearing Examiner's report in Morris County College and the Morris County College Faculty Association has been referred for a settlement conference with a staff mediator.

The General Counsel noted a new appeal filed in <u>Camden</u> <u>County School District and K.L.</u>, App. Div. Dkt. No. A-0719-24T2, P.E.R.C. No. 2025-5, 51 <u>NJPER</u> 112 (¶27 2024), and upcoming oral arguments in <u>Watchung Hills Regional School District Board of</u> <u>Education and Watchung Hills Regional Education Association</u>, App. Div. Dkt. No. A-1151-23T4, P.E.R.C. No. 2024-12, 50 <u>NJPER</u> 226 (¶50 2023) and <u>Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey and</u> <u>AFSCME Local 888</u>, App. Div. Dkt. No. A-0277-23, P.E.R.C. No. 2024-2, 50 <u>NJPER</u> 127 (¶31 2023).

The first case for consideration was <u>Township of Mount Olive</u> <u>and FOP Lodge 122</u>, Docket No. SN-2025-003. Commissioner Kushnir moved the draft decision and Commissioner Eaton seconded the

-2-

motion. The motion to adopt the draft decision was unanimously approved (Chair Hennessy-Shotter, Commissioners Eaton, Ford, Higgins, Kushnir and Papero).

The next item for consideration was <u>City of Newark and</u> <u>Newark Police SOA</u>, Docket No. CO-2024-058. Commissioner Kushnir moved the draft decision and Commissioner Higgins seconded the motion. The motion to adopt the draft was unanimously approved (Chair Hennessy-Shotter, Commissioners Eaton, Ford, Higgins, Kushnir and Papero).

The next item for consideration was <u>State of New Jersey and</u> <u>CWA Local 1038</u>, Docket No. CO-2022-201. Commissioner Ford moved the draft decision and Commissioner Papero seconded the motion. Commissioner Eaton and Commissioner Kushnir are recused from voting on matters involving the law firm of Weissman & Mintz. The motion to adopt the draft decision was unanimously approved (Chair Hennessy-Shotter, Commissioners Ford, Higgins and Papero).

The next item for consideration was <u>State of New Jersey and</u> <u>L.K.</u>, Docket No. CI-2025-005. Commissioner Higgins moved the draft decision and Commissioner Eaton seconded the motion. The motion to adopt the draft was unanimously approved (Chair Hennessy-Shotter, Commissioners Eaton, Ford, Higgins, Kushnir and Papero).

The Chair asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Commissioner Higgins made a motion to adjourn the meeting and

-3-

Commissioner Kushnir seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hennessy-Shotter, Commissioners Eaton, Ford, Higgins, Kushnir and Papero). The meeting was then adjourned.

The next regular meeting is scheduled to be held on Thursday, December 12, 2024.